DUI or Drunk Driving Charges, Can You Afford the Cost?

March 25, 2009

Recently noted in news accounts are the costs of a charge of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs.  Minimum court costs are $715.50 in Oklahoma County.  A “typical attorney’s fee” for misdemeanor for a guilty plea is $3,000 to $5,000.  That is for a first-time offender.  Other fees included a drug/alcohol assessment mandated by state law, the costs of driving school and/or substance abuse treatment and/or counseling, all as monitored by probation services, usually by the District Attorney of the county in which the prosecution takes place.

Lurking behind all the court and attorney costs are the effects on vehicle insurance.  These increases are hard to quantify, they vary so much.  These costs can skyrocket, according to John Wiscaver, governmental affairs director for State Farm Insurance in Oklahoma.  He says many insurance companies decline to renew the policy of a driver convicted of Driving Under the Influence.

Then there’s the revocation/suspension of the driver’s license.  In Oklahoma, a conviction for Driving or Being in Actual Physical Control of a Motor Vehicle While Under the Influence of Alcohol results automatically in revocation of the driver’s license, although a modified license can sometimes be obtained.  A modified license enables the driver to drive so long as the vehicle is equipped with a Safety Interlock or similar device. This requires the operator to give (breath) a non-alcohol sample to the machine before the vehicle will start and then at random times while the journey is underway.  These typically costs about $150 for installation and then $75.00 per month, usually for six months.  These have gotten more sophisticated now, so that the machine  even takes a photo of the person giving the non-alcohol breath sample to insure it is the licensee.   Obviously, this latter measure was taken from experience to bring the cat-and-mouse game up to give advantage to the machine manufacturer.

Except for the court costs, all costs mentioned above can increase dramatically when the criminal charge includes  allegations of injury to property, leaving the scene of an accident or injury or death of a person.

The costs described are not my numbers. They came from an article in the local newspaper. However, while my flat fee for some circumstances involving a first time DUI offense might be less than the $3,000.00 minimum quoted, it would not be as low as just a few hundred dollars (as some people expect). Moreover, while it’s always possible to find a lawyer to handle a case for a lower fee, that may actually end up costing you more in terms of the outcome.

In fact, there are many pitfalls in choosing an attorney just based on price alone, such as getting a lawyer who is a high volume attorney that won’t spend much time on your case, or hiring a lawyer without much experience practicing as a criminal defense lawyer. These are dangerous scenarios for you if your case and future are important to you and your family. That’s why I recommend anyone facing a DUI charge to get my “Protect Your Freedom Kit” by requesting it at my website at http://www.oklahomacriminallawoffice.com/freedomkit.php

Advertisements